Tracy Young discusses her path from construction student to construction CEO

Tracy Young is the co-founder and CEO of PlanGrid, a software platform that digitizes construction blueprints. Photo courtesy PlanGrid

Tracy Young ’08 (Construction Management) was an engineering student at Sacramento State who also was taking some construction management classes when she made a fateful choice.

“I could become a structural engineer, in the office all day crunching numbers and designing, or I could be on a job site and help build buildings,” she told USA Today earlier this month. “I chose the latter — it fits my personality more and I really wanted to be part of that building process.”

Young spoke with USA Today College earlier this month for its “How I Became A &hellip” series that explores how accomplished and influential individuals got to where they are in their careers. Young, who worked as a construction project engineer after graduation, now is the co-founder and CEO of PlanGrid, a software platform that digitizes blueprints for use on construction sites instead of printed versions.

In the interview, Young discusses her path from Sac State student to CEO, her most challenging and rewarding professional moments – and what it is like to be a woman in a male-dominated industry.

“I stuck out like a sore thumb, but I worked for a really good firm,” she said. “I was very lucky to have the project team that I had. They saw me as an engineer. They taught me everything about construction and made me a very, very good engineer. I don’t think gender ever crossed their minds.”

To learn more about Sac State’s construction management program, which was boasted a 100 percent job placement rate since 2011, visit ecs.csus.edu/cm/.

Author: Jonathan Morales

Writer and content producer at Sacramento State, writing about all things Made at Sac State.

Leave a Reply

